Country Information

You must know about Morocco

Quick facts about Morocco

Official name

Kingdom of Morocco – المملكة المغربية


36,064,173 people (2012)

Size (area)

710,850 km²



Political system

Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy


Mohammed VI

Prime Minister

Saadeddine Othmani

Largest city

Casablanca (5,500,000 people)

Highest mountain

Jbel Toubkal (4,167 meters)


Moroccan Dirham


The Geography of Morocco


Situated along the west coast of North Africa, Morocco possesses cultural characteristics from many corners of the world, adopting influences from other countries of the region.

Morocco is a country inhabited by both Arab and Amazigh (Berber) peoples, having spread large tribes of the two ethnic groups throughout its territory.

Morocco is bordered by two Spanish cities, Ceuta and Melilla, which are enclaves of Spain in North Africa.

Morocco also borders Algeria and Mauritania. The border between Morocco and Algeria has been closed since 1994.

Morocco possesses a coastline along the Atlantic Ocean, edging the North to the Straits of Gibraltar, then along the Mediterranean Sea.

Morocco is the 57th largest country in the world


The money in Morocco

The money

The Moroccan currency is the dirham (DH).

Every 1 dirham is divided into 100 cents. In Morocco, one can find banknotes of 20, 50, 100 and 200 dirhams. There are also 1, 2, 5 and 10 dirham coins as well as, though rare, 10, 20 and 50 dirham coins.

The Moroccan dirham is a restricted currency, meaning it can not be taken out of the country and is also not available abroad (with some exceptions).

That said, the Moroccan currency – the dirham, is quite stable and unaffected by large exchange rate fluctuations.

Euros, dollars and British pounds are the most easily traded currencies in Morocco.